Home Learning

Larkhall prides itself in its continuing work to understand the community in which it is based and the children and families it serves. Our expectations for home learning reflect this and the importance of individualised, bespoke and pertinent learning opportunities and feedback which move children’s understanding forward. This can be seen in our home learning offer, which prioritises engaging subject sessions and tasks with regular verbal and written feedback for students via Google Classroom, Class Dojo and weekly phone calls. In this way children are not held back because of their access to live streaming and teachers are more readily available for bespoke learning conferences which reflect the way children learn whilst in school. Skilled teachers can differentiate for every individual child and their needs, including talking through tasks, producing explanation videos and paper materials to support and extend learning, whilst also checking in on wellbeing. Most importantly,  all children can access a full offer of home learning which is right for them.

Blended (Home) Learning Policy

Home Learning Expectations

Home Learning Agreement

The most important homework we ask for is that children read every day. In their Home Learning Diaries there is a space for parents to sign, make a note and comment on what they are reading. Children have a literacy folder that they bring home every day which includes spellings they are working on.

The home learning diary forms important links between home and school. Please check it everyday. This year the diary will be kept in the Reading folders and used to log when children read at school and at home.

You should use the home learning diary to communicate with your child’s teachers. You can use it to request a meeting with a teacher or comment on anything that may have happened at home that you would like to share with us. Remember it is not possible for parents to speak with teachers in the morning, however, teachers will check the home school diaries for messages.

Children reflect at the end of each week so do make sure you talk with your child about how their week has been and what they have been successful at or what they would like to improve on.

Please look in your child’s home learning diary for learning resources for you to use to help your child with their learning.

In addition children from Year 2 upwards have a Times Tables Rockstars log in to work on their maths skills.

Times Table Rockstars

To contact teachers with regard any questions, please email them directly at their email address below.  

Families, to remind you, if would like paper copies of Home Learning resources for your children, please contact the school to arrange a time to come in and collect a pack. These packs contact materials for Maths and English.

Once you have completed all of the Home Learning resources, then please focus on the following activities that are always worth maintaining every day are:

  • Reading and listening to stories
  • Reading and spelling the key word for your year group (these are in the Home Learning Diaries)
  • Practising quick mental addition and subtraction and learning times table and division acts
  • Please also look at other websites, such as BBC Bitesize 
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize 
    and the national academy
    https://www.thenational.academy

 I do want to stress the hazards of spending too long looking at screens. As you are accessing lots of educational resources, then please try to limit the amount of your child’s passive screen time, such as TV shows, etc.

Teachers Names And Email Addresses

Teacher NameEmail Address
Celcsmith@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Caitlincsullivan@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Elenaegriffiths@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Amyamoxon@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Rosierlucas@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Ayeshaayeshaahmed@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Clairecflindall@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Sophiesdenton@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Charlottecpajak@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Sashasferdinand@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Anniealock@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Benbpowell@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Lindenlwint@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Amnaadagoy@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Nicolenmcallister@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk
Samswofford@larkhall.lambeth.sch.uk